That’s Life

Let me introduce myself. My name is Luca. I live on the second floor. That’s not true actually. Those words are part of a verse to a song that I love. It’s about domestic violence. I can understand that because it was very much a part of my childhood.

Now, most people can whine and moan about how horrible life is and how things are unfair, and do nothing about it. I’m not one of them. I happen to believe that things are hard, and life is tough but get over it. Move on. Things happen. Find something that makes you happy. Make solutions not excuses. But, then again I also grew up watching TV shows like “Little House on the Prairie”, and “The Walton’s”. Everyone has to have someone to look up to. I guess that makes me naive. That’s ok, I can accept that.

Two things happened this week that led my boyfriend and I to Atlantic City for the weekend. The first was a webcast featuring someone from NJ. The second was a tweet by my #1 idol, who happens to be a chef. That chef also happens to have a restaurant in Atlantic City. 2+2=4 right?

My boyfriend Brian is one of the most amazing people on the Planet. He is my everyday reminder that miracles exist. Yes, I know that sounds cheesy but it’s true. He’s never been to New Jersey. Given the fact that he’s recovering from an extremely significant health issue (which is another story for another time), I decided that we needed a mini vacation. Sometimes you just have to celebrate life, grab the brass ring and go for it. I booked the hotel, and made dinner reservations at my idol’s restaurant. I was just so excited! I’ve read every single book Chef has written, and seen every documentary both here in the US and abroad. I thought that he stood for hard work, and dedication. The most important of all though is customer service. He’s built his brand around it. The guest comes first.

Imagine my surprise when I called his restaurant to say we were running just a few moments behind and got voice mail. Surely, I was wrong! It couldn’t be! I hung up, and checked the number. It was correct. I called seven more times, and all seven times I got voice mail. It felt like I had been punched in the gut! I told Brian to turn around and drive right back to the hotel. My shock and horror slowly turned to anger. I felt angry at myself for being so stupid to believe he would actually embody and live his mantra. How foolish I am!

We all have codes to live by – socially, financially, morally, ethically, and spiritually. With such a strong social media presence these days it makes it much more difficult I think for celebrities. Everything they do is blasted all over the internet. Someone somewhere is not going to agree with you. That’s just the way it is. However, if you are famous and build a brand that is based on an idea, then it is not unreasonable to think that you should actually take your own advice. But, that’s the other horrible thing about growing up on Disney movies though; sometimes the dog gets shot at the end.

 

If you care to hear the song, here it is. I personally – (no offense to the Artist) like just seeing the words, because it makes me think about the message without the distractions.

 

Leave a Reply

