I’ll Wear a Purple Hat with my Grover Socks!

“It’s All Fun and Games until someone loses an eye.” That was my father’s favorite saying. That phrase really struck a cord with me because my grandfather was blind, and it bothered me.  I guess the phrase “inaccurate boldness can have disastrous consequences” wasn’t as catchy.

All throughout my childhood it was some different saying. I learned the meaning of yet another wondrous phrase in the seventh grade one day in Science class. There was my teacher sitting at his desk with a huge bandage around his middle finger. Apparently, he decided to “throw caution to the wind” and he reached under his lawnmower to pull out a stick that had gotten stuck. He did it without turning off the motor first. Well, on the brightside, at least it wasn’t an eye! Clearly he had never heard of Thomas Dolby or seen the movie “Weird Science”.

Yesterday I happened to arrive at work very early. My horn player was there. I’ve watched him for months now because for some reason I find him fascinating. He also knows how to play one heck of a song! He’s a homeless vet, and every morning he is there smiling and playing. A few of us smile back, but most ignore him. People can’t be bothered anymore to say hi, or even to stop to listen to him play. That makes me sad.

I’ve never seen him ask anyone for money. He knows some people by name, and he asks how they are. That has always fascinated me too. I just could not help myself, I had to stop. I asked him what his name was, and he replied “John”. And before I could stop, I found myself saying to him “For months now I’ve heard you play and it amazes me. You give me something to look forward to every time that I come here”

What happened next was not something that I was expecting. Tears filled up in his eyes and he said “God needed me to hear that today”, and then he took my hand. He asked me what my name was, and when I replied “Elizabeth” he said “That name stands for royalty, did you know that?” I actually did know that because I am a nerd who likes to read and has a fascination with British history. Then I started to get a little choked up. So I said “O.k. now, don’t make me cry. Hug it out!” I leaned over and hugged him.

I  reached into my purse, and he hadn’t even asked me for any money. I just couldn’t help it. I also didn’t care what people thought as they walked by. Here I was dressed for work, hugging a homeless man on a street corner in D.C. The thing I find even sadder is that no one even probably noticed.

Both actions of “throwing caution to the wind” and “inaccurate boldness” can result in disastrous consequences. I’ve seen it first-hand. I myself am guilty. But, I’ve since learned something. It is our choices and the decisions that we make that can lead to Royalty; and all of that is up to us.

My favorite clip of someone that I loved and admired dearly: She worked very hard on fixing her mistakes. To me, she knew how to be Royal and her title will never be stripped:

Or if you prefer a song:

 

Leave a Reply

