I Spy With My Own Two Eyes

Our lady towerIn November 2014, something happened that changed my life forever. It was about 2:30 in the morning and I couldn’t sleep. I went downstairs and turned on the T.V. A special was on about the ceramic poppies that were placed around the Tower of London. That show interested me because each of the poppies represented a Military fatality that occurred during the First World War. The art installation was absolutely breathtaking.

I pressed pause on the remote to run to the bathroom. When I came out, I grabbed the controller and started to press play when I noticed something. It made me stop dead in my tracks. Surely, I wasn’t seeing what I was seeing. I just stood in front of my couch completely dumbfounded. There in the upper right corner of my T.V. was an angel. Yes, you read that right, I saw an angel.

You’re probably sitting there thinking “this woman is on drugs” or “Alllriiighty then!” For the record I don’t do drugs, I wasn’t drinking, and I am not mentally ill. Trust me; I’m right there with ya! I get it! When it happened I just stood in my living room with my mouth open. I couldn’t move. It was one of those moments where my eyes saw it, but my logical brain was unable to make sense of it. My brain was like a dog that sat stubbornly on the carpet and refused to move for bath time.

When I finally regained my composure I did what any person would do; I grabbed my cell phone and took pictures of my T.V. screen. It was still paused. I knew that if I told anyone they would laugh at me or worse. I figured proof would be the only way to get anyone to listen. I took nine photos in all. As I sat down looking through them, I realized that the joke was on me. None of the pictures turned out. My angel showed up as a blurry white mass on the right side of the screen. It was just my luck. I did however make an unexpected discovery; it was what I did not see on my screen that showed up in one picture. To the right of my flash in the middle of the picture, there is an image of a woman standing sideways looking down over the field.

It took me quite a while to digest that one. For days I sat in my living room just staring at my phone. What was I supposed to do with that? Finally I decided to create a Facebook page called “Is God on Facebook”. I knew what I saw, and what I believed. I wanted to know what others thought. Not many people participated. There are two things that people just don’t go out of their way to talk about; and that’s politics and religion. The friends that did participate posted some pretty cool and interesting articles on the page. A friend of mine in Malaysia posted the Tim Minchin Graduation Speech. That one was and is one of my favorites.

In the meantime, I wrote an email to a Priest in another Parish. I asked for an appointment, and I sent him the picture. Surely he would see it and squeeze me in right away right? Not so much! He told me to read a book. Read a book? Read a book? Was he joking? Did he not see the picture? I was completely and utterly frustrated! I just didn’t know what to do. The only people besides the Priest that have seen all of the photos are my family, and my boyfriend. I never posted them. It was partially out of fear, but it was mostly that I knew it wasn’t the right time or place. I simply can’t explain that.

I’ve said on Facebook many times that spiritually, we are in a battle. It’s not even a matter of Religion. It’s not Baptist against Catholics, or Protestants against Jews, or anything like that. It is simply a matter of faith. I get my inspiration from Joel Osteen. He always starts out with a joke, and I find his messages to be insightful and poignant.

Sometimes there are just simply things that have no explanation. That statement took me quite some time to digest because I’ve always believed that there is a logical, rational, and legitimate reason for why things are the way they are. In this case I have no answers. I can only go by what I believe; and I think that at a time when the world is in crisis, our only weapon and ally that we can count on is faith.

My update tonight was sponsored by my angels. You don’t have to be Catholic, or believe in the the role of The Blessed Mother in the bible. I spent time in Medjugoria. I was there during an apparition. Mary is the most powerful mom on the field as far as I’m concerned. You don’t have to be Catholic to get it.

 

Leave a Reply

